Author Topic: Storm Grey mk3, 5 door GTI 8 valve, project nurburgring on a budget!  (Read 9762 times)

Offline mk3shed_8v

• Not said much yet
Hi all newbie here, I have recently been gifted a 5 door 8 valve mk 3 Gti off my mother. She owned the car for around 7 months after paying £700 for it only to use it as her dog car (car to take dogs out in!). Shortly before coming into my hands the car was on the receiving end of 2 accidents whilst being parked up when the snow was bad before xmas. I borrowed this car on a regular basis and developed a bit of a soft spot for it and was planning to buy it off my mother once she was finished with it. Fate interviened and although not in the state i wanted to take ownership of her the little 8 valve is now mine for free!!

The Goal
Well the plan is this, although i know they are not the quickest car i want to turn this car into the perfect track car/ daily driver if that makes sense. I am not planning any engine mods as i dont want to affect fuel economy. My plan is to concentrate on suspension and brakes so that this car will handle and stop like a trackday toy but still average 30ish mpg and have all the creature comforts and practicality i need to use as a daily driver for me and my family. Want to get it ready and take a trip to the nurburgring in around 18 months time.

Current Fault List
Headlights appear cross eyed? (Will see from pics)
When car is cold it cuts out when you put clutch in approaching junctions. Is fine once warm.
O/s front electric window switch doesnt work.
o/s rear window has come off its runner.
n/s rear window not working? motor or regulator?
Glove box mechanism broken.
Front bumper lower vent missing.
Dent o/s rear door!
Rear wiper arm missing.
2 tyres very close to legal limit.
Both front fog light lenses cracked.
n/s abs plastic outer sill trim broken.

The big one! Both near side doors need replacing thanks to pre xmas accidents.

Offline mk3shed_8v

• Not said much yet