Author Topic: Mk3 Gt conversion, got some questions?  (Read 14410 times)

Offline dubdom

• Not said much yet
Mk3 Gt conversion, got some questions?
« on: 22 September 2009, 13:54 »
Hello people,

I'm part way through putting a GT engine into my mk1, and have got a couple of problems. Lots actually...

1. Reverse light sensor?
Only have the actual engine loom in the mk1 not whole front loom. Could i just swap the switch out of the mk1 4 speed into the mk3 5 speed? (That would save me lots of hassle)

2. Fuel pump wiring? Locating the fuel pump at the back beside wheel well (mk3 polo stuff). Have the in car fuel pump wiring but were does it go? Do i take some wires from the back of the relay beside the ecu. (unless you can guess I'm a complete wiring novice)

3. Black temp switch on thermo housing? haven't got the right plug as far as i can see. Where does it go and what should i use?

4. Unknown plug no.1, furthest forwards one on the little mount of 3 beside inlet manifold. Again catn find correct plug, 2 pin plug with yellow and blue wires going to seperat plugs on back of the head? What is?

5. Unknown plug no.2, This plug run along with the plug to the coil pack but splits before it reaches, its a 3 pin plug (brown red black wires) What is?

6. Unknown plug no.3, This one runs along with main loom towards the ecu but again splits, its a 3 pin plug with a big red, little red and a yellow? What is? anything to do with fuel pump??

7. Coolant inlet, outlets?? Thermostat housing, 3 outlets on back, top two are plugged lowest is not, where does it go? Other two are on the metal coolant pipe running along back of block, two outlets coming out towards back on the far right (looking from front). I assume two of these go into my heater matrix, but which ones and what does the other one do???