Author Topic: advice starting out  (Read 1990 times)

Offline VR6_ROB

• I live here
  • Mk2 VR6 / Corrado G60
advice starting out
« on: 16 February 2009, 21:07 »
hi all I am looking into getting in to the detailing side of things alot deeper
I am a valeter by trade and the products I use are cheap and nasty I would say
I have a good bit of knowledge on cleaning but detailing is another story
I have only used the clay and meguiars 3 stage stuff

currently my car is in the bodyshop but I want to look after it alot better
what do I need I am happy with the products I have for the interior
so its mainly exterior

so far I have got the following

micro fibre cloths
wash mitts
meguiars clay kit
meguiars paint cleaner
meguiars polish
meguiars wax
black wow

what else do I need I would like to learn about removing light scratches
do I need a buffer?

oh yeah my car is white

thanks
rob
« Last Edit: 16 February 2009, 21:16 by VR6_ROB »

Offline stealthwolf

• I live here
Re: advice starting
« Reply #1 on: 16 February 2009, 21:14 »
A lot of megs products. You get  a discount or something!  :laugh:

Have a look over on detailing world. There's a tutorial on polishing and swirl removal.

For scratches, you have two options:

1. Fill them in. Use Autoglym SRP for this. Best thing about AG SRP is that you can use it by hand and it will give a far superior finish to any other handworked product.
2. Reduce them by reducing the amount of clearcoat. For this, you need a machine polisher, ideally a rotary.

Offline Envy Valeting

• Not said much yet
Re: advice starting out
« Reply #2 on: 16 February 2009, 21:50 »
Hi Rob,
You have a nice lot of products and some good ones too.
Its not an easy thing to start up and takes time and patience to get to a point where you can rely on it for an income, especially in this climate and time of year. Is the valeting you do a job or hobby? You need something you can earn from whilst you get going in my opinion.