Author Topic: Brain pick  (Read 2583 times)

Offline pro7dave

• Not said much yet
Brain pick
« on: 04 April 2007, 16:43 »
Hi guys, I,ve just recently aquried a mk1 golf gti after many years away from my favourite shape golf.
Basically i competed for many years in various hillclimbs and sprint.but because it had to be the correct engine for the body it was always with 8 valve engines.But having run a ABF engined road car i am quite keen on running one off these.Basically the kind of help i'm after is silly stuff  like is it best to run a old KR head or what cams work best ,who does the best exhaust manifolds. You know that kind of thing. I'm a mechanic by trade so no worries there.I have just lost touch a little with the scene.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Dave.

Offline pro7dave

• Not said much yet
Re: Brain pick
« Reply #1 on: 06 April 2007, 11:19 »
No worries, thanks guys i found out what i need to now anyway.

Offline Hypermonkey

• GTI forum regular
  • Only users lose drugs!
« Reply #2 on: 07 April 2007, 11:54 »
I run a Mk1 with ABF 2.0 bottom end, KR modified top end and cams...180bhp and 150ft/lbs with spot on fueling...and 800kgs :smiley:

You may be interested in this forum and section as there is tons of info...and joining is £10 and the discount card pays for itself at many places :wink:  http://www.clubgti.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28

There are other things to think about as well like the suspension etc. Where abouts are you as if you are anywhere near Reading then drop me a line and you can see the car and set up ans see if it's the direction you want to go, also might take out some 'trial and error' in something you might want to do :smiley:

Offline pro7dave

• Not said much yet
« Reply #3 on: 07 April 2007, 12:21 »