Author Topic: MK5 - Beginners guide to buying my First Golf GTI  (Read 6176 times)

Offline zaklfc9

• Just got here
MK5 - Beginners guide to buying my First Golf GTI
« on: 24 September 2013, 16:28 »
Can I make a Golf MK5 look exactly like a MK5 GTI?

Basically could I make this:     

http://www.gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/volkswagen-golf-20-gt-tdi-3dr-diesel-hatchback-2004/1033094689

Look like this:       

http://www.gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/mk5-golf-gti-dsg-fully-loaded/1033070681

Like a £1500 difference, currently I dont care about performance, just entirely going by looks. Would this be worth the time and effort?

Advice would be most welcome as im a total novice when it comes to cars. Looking to buy an MK5 in the next few weeks.

Thanks in advance.

« Last Edit: 24 September 2013, 16:49 by zaklfc9 »

Offline Poached

• I live here
Re: MK5 - Beginners guide to buying my First Golf GTI
« Reply #1 on: 24 September 2013, 17:01 »
Why not buy the real thing...a replica is always a wannabe.

At £1500 difference you might as well buy the GTI! A replica could cost the price difference anyway.

Offline th3_f15t

• I live here
« Reply #2 on: 24 September 2013, 20:08 »
If you want to build a replica, you have to consider the time it'll take to source parts. Also, are you going for genuine parts or cheap copies? Genuine parts will fit better but by the time you pay the difference, getting it sprayed and colour coded, spend the time fitting it and then insuring it... Just get a GTI.

Alternatively, do something different and take bits of things you like and blend it on your car. For example, I have a GTI, but I'm fitting R32 rear bumper and side skirts, Edition 30 front spoiler, different alloys... You get the idea.

Moving over to Flickr, sorry for the broken picture links!

Offline zaklfc9

• Just got here
« Reply #3 on: 25 September 2013, 15:18 »
Lads cheers for the replies, I think I needed a little prod to just go out and buy 1!!