Author Topic: Who's running a Bluefinned mk6?  (Read 14246 times)

Offline Exonian

• Serious forum addict
Who's running a Bluefinned mk6?
« on: 25 October 2011, 06:13 »
I know a few of you are running Bluefin mk6s, so how do you rate it?

It is supposedly tamer than REVO so maybe won't suffer hesitation problems and DV failures quite so readily, but does it deliver the goods in the mid-range?

I really don't want to start a tuner war here, I have a LOT of experience with different tuners from 24 years of modifying VW/SEATs but have yet to try Bluefin out.

The fact that Bluefin can put a mk6 back to fully standard is a huge appeal to me but what swayed me away from it in the past towards REVO (aside from an absolutely cracking deal they gave me) was a member on another forum (wigit for those that know him) had Bluefin on his EA888 Scirocco followed by REVO and he rated the latter as much better performing.
But with the REVO I actually preferred it on their lowest setting (95 RON map) as it didn't suffer any wheelspin or torque steer like the 98 RON map but still offered a nice mid range punch.
As my car is used more and more as a dual carriageway cruiser peak BHP is of little concern to me, clutch friendly but punchy mid range torque is what I want to see as I live in a very hilly area.
‘23 8R
Serial white Golf owner

Offline The Doc

• Forum addict
  • E63s Estate - Vito Sport
Re: Who's running a Bluefinned mk6?
« Reply #1 on: 25 October 2011, 08:55 »
I know a few of you are running Bluefin mk6s, so how do you rate it?

It is supposedly tamer than REVO so maybe won't suffer hesitation problems and DV failures quite so readily, but does it deliver the goods in the mid-range?

I really don't want to start a tuner war here, I have a LOT of experience with different tuners from 24 years of modifying VW/SEATs but have yet to try Bluefin out.