Author Topic: flat spot on motorway  (Read 690 times)

Offline davegolfturbo

• GTI forum regular
flat spot on motorway
« on: 24 June 2007, 17:50 »
hi im pretty new with golfs but i have a mk 4 gttdi 115 bhp, anyway i was on a drive down the motorway and ther car was running fine then all of a sudden i just lost all power to the car as if the turbo was gone..so i pulled up on hard shoulder stopped the car, popped the bonnet to check the turbo was still spinning up. The turbo was still working pressurising the pipe, so i got in the car again turned engine on and it carried on fine...wat was the problem, any ideas?? cos i was a bit baffled lol.

thanks dave.

Offline Rhyso

• Global Moderator
  • Sir Postalot
Re: flat spot on motorway
« Reply #1 on: 24 June 2007, 17:54 »
limp mode.

most likely a split pipe somewhere.  the air escapes and you lose pressure hence why lack of power!

check all hoses and connections for signs of a split and replace accordingly

Offline davegolfturbo

• GTI forum regular
« Reply #2 on: 24 June 2007, 19:29 »
ye but it now runs fine so it cant be that or the loss of power wudf be permenant shurely? ta for post dave.

Offline Rhyso

• Global Moderator
  • Sir Postalot
« Reply #3 on: 24 June 2007, 19:32 »
not necessarily; the problem can be intermittent  :undecided:

otherwise it could be MAF  :undecided: check your hoses and connections first as they are a bit cheaper to replace  :smiley:

Offline richandhazel

• Global Moderator
  • Forum addict
« Reply #4 on: 25 June 2007, 02:15 »
More than likely it will be one of the small 1/4" dia hoses that has a leak. You'll have to methodically check them all. I would start around the boost valve (N75) located in the N/S bulkhead area.

Mine used to do it if I accelerated hard after a long run. Switch off the ignition, start up and all would be fine. As Rhyso says, it goes into limp mode where the turbo stops working.