Author Topic: 1.6 to 8v GTI Conversion, so close, yet so far!  (Read 9607 times)

Offline Ed1993

• Just got here
1.6 to 8v GTI Conversion, so close, yet so far!
« on: 06 June 2018, 20:05 »
Right, so here's my situation, I've recently put a 1.8 8v PB engine into my 1991 Driver replacing the 1.6 EZ engine originally in it, I have read a few threads online where people have been asking about this conversion and the responses usually contained "just buy a gti" or "if you're going to carry out a conversion put a 1.8T lump in it", but for me this project was about learning as I have very little mechanical knowledge i.e. I'd changed brake pads and serviced the car before. But this engine swap involved no real modification, meaning I had less to worry about and could focus on Understanding the 8v engine and digifant system. Anyways the point I'm at now is that the engine is in and has started but is massively over fuelling, so much so that it floods and can't be started. After pulling the spark plugs to find they're covered in fuel and after checking the dipstick there is fuel in there too. Now, here's the good stuff :lol: the wiring was what had caused me an issue in the end and was handed over to other more competent people, and it turned out the ecu wiring loom and rear wiring loom which was replaced to allow for the addition of the external fuel pump weren't just plug and play into my CE2 fuse box as I had thought myself and after going through every wire and referring back to printouts I had provided them of Fusebox wiring locations kindly posted online by rubjohnny they eventually found that there were issues with the power wirimg for fuel pump and ecu so these were wired up with separate Relays above the Fusebox. What this has resulted in is the fuel pump being on constantly with ignition rather than priming and Turning off after 5 seconds as every page I've read online states they should. The guys that are helping me, who are actually professionals unlike myself ar