Author Topic: 16v rattle  (Read 801 times)

Offline pjd

• Just got here
16v rattle
« on: 15 March 2011, 19:43 »
hi guys im new to the scene,need alittle info ,my mate has my old mk3 8 valve and he just got a 16v complete car and was going to swap the motor as the body has had it, the 16v has been laid up for 3 years, it started very easy but theres seems to be noisy up top, would the followers be stuck? cheers.

Offline neil1780

• I live here
Re: 16v rattle
« Reply #1 on: 15 March 2011, 20:51 »
have you let it run for a while? my 8v was very tapety when it started after 4 months but it quietend down after about 5-10 mins.
V6 4MOTION

Offline Wayne

• Sir Postalot
« Reply #2 on: 15 March 2011, 20:54 »
Drain and replace the oil and see if it helps.

Ps you need to swap more than just the engine

Offline thai-wronghorse

• Serious forum addict
  • mk1 Seat Leon FR TDI
« Reply #3 on: 16 March 2011, 09:06 »
This is something that has become a concern of my own quite recently as it goes. It is due for a cambelt change and ive noticed that the belt  / tensioner has become increasingly noisy (squeaky & rattly) plus the fact i reckon an oil change wouldn't go a miss now either.
There definitely appears to be a fair bit of top end rattling and was wondering if it was followers or cam chain? If this was the case i was thinking it would surely make sense to attend to these whilst the cambelt was been done to save on labour costs.
Il also be getting the water pump, thermostat and drive belts replaced whilst im at it for good measure.
Are there any other common things i should consider when tracking down and reducing engine rattles / noises? What sort of prices do followers and cam chains go for and are there any checks i should be making on these before spend any of my hard earned cash unnecessarily?

Offline rubjonny

• 10k hero
  • Hello, my name is John and I'm a dub addict.
« Reply #4 on: 16 March 2011, 09:25 »