Author Topic: Hello folks - - new member.  (Read 1298 times)

Offline Rivage01

• Just got here
Hello folks - - new member.
« on: 12 March 2006, 18:59 »
Hi all.  Just come across this site, very good it is too.

I am very much into my Golf GTIs and am a real 80s car fan - I actually have my own business sourcing/selling original and unmolested 80s cars, but I am definitely more genuine enthusiast than wheeler-dealer trader.

I should be concentrating on Porsche 928 and 944/BMW 635CSI/Mercedes 560 SEC which is what I make my living from, however I can't stop buying Mk2 Golf GTIs to return to pristine order.  Currently I am a very happy chappy as have a 1991 GTI Rivage Cabrio, 1989 GTI Mk2 8V, 1996 GTI Mk3 16V and a 1996 Mk3 VR6  all completey factory original and FSH.  I am also in the process of restoring a 1987 GTI Cabrio in Sapphire Blue as my personal car... although the gearbox is giving me grief at present.

Last year I restored a D-reg Mk2 GTI 16V in Monza Blue Metallic to showroom condition which was utterly original, even down to the pre-digital tuning Panasonic stereo, it looked stunning and was correct in every detail.  The sad part is the kid who bought it undid all my hard work by fitting single-headlamp grill, 16 inch alloys, lowering it, etc etc which I was totally miffed by as there very few factory standard early 16Vs knocking about, especially in Monza Blue, but I respect we all have our own tastes...  Besides having sourced my lovely Rivage I am over this now!

I don't know how to upload pix on here but if anyone is at a loose end please check out the "Recent Sales" link on my website  www.the80semporium.co.uk   to see the type of GTIs I am into.  This is not a blatant plug by the way before anyone comments as I am a proper GTI enthusiast!!!

Daniel

Offline Neaty

• Forum addict
Re: Hello folks - - new member.
« Reply #1 on: 12 March 2006, 19:03 »
let me be the first to say hello and welcome to the forum!