Author Topic: DSG Driving tips ?  (Read 931 times)

Offline Adrian.L

• Just got here
DSG Driving tips ?
« on: 13 July 2023, 08:10 »
I have been driving a manual for over 10 years and got a GTI DSG 2 years ago and i`m still not sure what is the best way to use a DSG while waiting at a red light, i used to put the car in Neutral some one told me this is not a good idea since the car is made to just have the brake pedal hold i then just kept using the auto hold is kind of comfortable, then a few months ago a saw a video and the guy used to just press the Parking button when he was waiting at a red light, also the first thing i do when i start the car is turn off that stupid on/off engine thing.

While driving i notice when you use normal drive mode the car just drops all the revs and u kinda idle the engine, is this really good for the engine to have it idle on and off a lot while driving in the city, is it not better to have in sports and have the engine running normally at what ever RPM u depressed the pedal having it ready to go and not drop the RPM`s?

Any experienced people here who could tell me what is the best way to use the DSG when thinking of maintaining the car as best as possible, any info is appreciated.

I would also like to say i see the default GTI has lots of "fuel efficiency" perks, i never understand this like who buys a GTI for fuel efficiency why make some many things default like the start stop engine. :undecided:

Offline Adam T7

• I live here
Re: DSG Driving tips ?
« Reply #1 on: 13 July 2023, 08:30 »
I’m not a DSG expert but I watched a US YouTube GTI video and it’s was recommended to go into neutral and hold on the parking brake or foot brake. Been doing that for over 4.5 years with no issues. I find that if you leave in Drive and hold on the brake / auto hold you can still hear (and see on the boost gauge) the engine is working slightly harder.
Drive and Auto hold is handy for stop start crawls.
Rarely use Sport.