Author Topic: Waiting times  (Read 2991 times)

Offline Shiner95

• Just got here
Waiting times
« on: 01 October 2014, 16:59 »
Hi, I'm new to this so pls be patient. Ordered a new R end of June. Still order is at at the factory being scheduled for production.
Anybody in the same boat have any update? Quite a high spec so may be cause for delay. Fed up with driving the wife's UP!
Great car but not an R.  :cry:

Offline monkeyhanger

• Serious forum addict
Re: Waiting times
« Reply #1 on: 02 October 2014, 07:27 »
I ordered an R for next March (2 weeks on Sat), and was told i'd timed it perfectly because there is a 5-6 month wait on them. Loads of time yet - you won't get a solid production build week until 3 weeks before it's due to be built, although your dealer should have a rough estimate. You might not get yours until Christmas if you ordered at the end of June (depending on how much R alloctaion your dealership has going spare).
Whey ya bugger! It's finally arrived after an 8 month wait....
MK7 R 5 door, manual, Lapiz Blue, Prets.

Offline Shiner95

• Just got here
« Reply #2 on: 02 October 2014, 09:02 »
Thanks for the info. Longer than I had hoped but at least it gives me some clues. The dealer has contacted VW UK as it would seem to be longer than quoted. I don't understand the dealer slots for an R. Would appreciate clarification on that one.

Offline p3asa

• Forum addict
« Reply #3 on: 02 October 2014, 10:49 »
Thanks for the info. Longer than I had hoped but at least it gives me some clues. The dealer has contacted VW UK as it would seem to be longer than quoted. I don't understand the dealer slots for an R. Would appreciate clarification on that one.

The way I see it is:
The dealer slots are not solely for the R but right across the range.
A dealer can't just order 20 Golf R's when 20 customers walk in and want to buy one.
They are given an allotted amount per month that they can order through VW.