Author Topic: ENGINE IDEAS FOR MK3 2.0 8V GTI TRANSPLANT?!?!??!?!  (Read 5802 times)

Offline VdubBrummie

• Not said much yet
ENGINE IDEAS FOR MK3 2.0 8V GTI TRANSPLANT?!?!??!?!
« on: 07 January 2011, 18:48 »
Hi all.  ive got a very tidy mk3 8v gti that I bought with a future project in mind. im kinda new to all this modding malarkey, the last thing i modded was my mk1 16v gti by putting 2 x twin weber 45's, 4 into 1 manifold, 3 1/2 " exhaust, etc etc. As you see all 'bolt on ' items and that was 15 years ago. Now having more time and money  I want to go further and build a ' BAD ASS FOTHER MUCKER '  engine from the ground up. Not being mechanical this will be my first build but i dont want it to be the usual  ie VR6 or  standard VW.  My Bro suggested going the skoda route, someone else said Porsche..
I plan to start this build in the 3 months or so.
ANY GOOD TIPS GUYS!!

Offline lemski

• Forum addict
  • 16v
Re: ENGINE IDEAS FOR MK3 2.0 8V GTI TRANSPLANT?!?!??!?!
« Reply #1 on: 07 January 2011, 19:09 »
Hmmmm.s4 engine? Then tweak it all out.
Liam

Offline darcy

• GTI forum regular
« Reply #2 on: 07 January 2011, 19:19 »
something like a 6.0l V12 hmmmmm......... just abit of modding and your there. :)

Offline Wayne

• Sir Postalot
« Reply #3 on: 07 January 2011, 19:21 »

ANY GOOD TIPS GUYS!!

Yep sell it and buy something quicker or fit a 1.8t if your heart is really set on keeping it.

Fitting carbs is a backward step.

Offline VdubBrummie

• Not said much yet
« Reply #4 on: 07 January 2011, 20:07 »
@Wayne....

Not fitting carbs dude!!!! Read the post fully and you will see I want to build a non standard engine!! KRO

Offline jonnypolish

• I live here
  • t2871r needed :)
« Reply #5 on: 07 January 2011, 20:15 »
LOL tut tut tut Wayne not reading the whole post!!  :rolleyes:

To be honest mate if you're thinking to do something out of the norm then you're going to "need" to be mechanically minded  :wink: