Author Topic: Advice re finance  (Read 2498 times)

Offline Gcixxer

• Not said much yet
Re: Advice re finance
« Reply #10 on: 02 June 2014, 23:09 »
I'm new to this forum but this is right up my street. I am a business manager (finance and insurance) with skoda and VW. I suggest you drop me a pm with your details, the car and I will get you a settlement and see how I can help. I need GTIs as used stock as they're great news on the forecourt so I will pay top dollar for it and I'm sure I can sort you out another car for a lower payment, it probably won't be a GTI but I suggest you sort your house before your car. 

Offline dubber36

• Forum addict
« Reply #11 on: 03 June 2014, 09:13 »
Why are people so keen to get you dripped up on another car, albeit with lower monthly payments? As someone said earlier, it's just rolling one debt into another, so not addressing the issue at all.

I'd go with the suggestion of getting a much older, cheaper car that you can pay cash for. An older car needn't cost much to maintain / repair as keeping it in as new condition will not make it worth any more money. Just put up with the odd rattle and ignore the minor scuffs and dings.  I'd buy a Mk4 GT TDI for £2000, drive around in it until you have a more stable financial footing, then sell it for £2000. Motoring doesn't get much cheaper. It all depends if you are the sort of person that is prepared to do the practical thing, or you have to be seen to be driving a flash car to make it look like you are doing well.
Red Mk6 gone replaced with a white Mk7 which has gone too. Green Mk2 here to stay.

Offline Misterp

• I live here
« Reply #12 on: 03 June 2014, 09:45 »
Whilst it might not be the best option have you tried speaking to the house builder/developer to try and negotiate a discount there or possibly speaking to a different mortgage lender. I'm a property lawyer (albeit commercial property) but I have contacts who may be able to assist.