Author Topic: VR6 into a MK1  (Read 1169 times)

Offline acma

• Not said much yet
VR6 into a MK1
« on: 20 May 2009, 18:35 »
Hi all,

Well I know it's been done a fair few times before, but well I've just managed to pick myself up a fairly cheap VR6 and subframe and fancy having a go at it.....  Just love the sound of the VR6.....  Oh and I recently managed to pick myself up a cheap MK1 Cab, so guna have a little fun over the coming summer months.

Thought I'd start the post and update each week for all who want to watch the thread developing.

First job is to strip the mk1 I've got, that will be done over this bank holiday weekend.  I intend to rid the car of any rust etc etc.  The engine and subframe will be here on saturday but the car isn't obviously ready for that bit yet, so it'll be going into storage until I'm ready for it.

I'm not a mechanic but have some knowledge about cars having recently restored a lotus elise, and that too was just for fun, however I didn't upgrade anything on that car, but it's just built my confidence in having a go.  I work for an engineering company which obviously helps (i however pen pusher before people start to think I already posses the necessary skills to undertake such a job), though knoweldge will be on hand, or so I hope hahahaha

I've already asked one of the lads to help me with some MIG wielding (given the car will need new engine mounts etc), my first training day is on Monday 25th May, seen I've never wielded anything in my life before, thought it best to get some training and avice lol....

Anyway, enough rambling on, I'm sure once it's finished I'll be Santa Podding it  :laugh: though that's months away I'm sure...

If anybody has undertaken a similar task before any tips/pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers for reading this thread, to those who do, watch this space..

Oh yeh I'll post as many pictures as I can too...

Offline kraM

• Here all the time
  • It's not the speed, it's the sudden stops...