Author Topic: 'G' Digi 8v wont idle at all when cold  (Read 1561 times)

Offline Alec

• I live here
'G' Digi 8v wont idle at all when cold
« on: 04 November 2009, 14:42 »
Hello all, I am new to any kind of forum and fairly new to the golf scene so sorry for any silly sounding questions.

My G plate digi 8v gti has been having some problems from cold, it absolutely hates running unless I keep my foot on the throttle, but once the oil temp reaches 50 degrees she runs fine (alhtough idle is a little low).

I gave it a new dizzy cap n rotor and also gave the idle control valve the petrol bath treatment after another idle/backfire/misfire problem in the past (which is now cured) so I am out of ideas. Also under load I get a very annoying oil pressure warning bzzer and flashing light, could this be linked to the problem??

Any advice would be brilliant as I am getting sick of sitting like a wally for 10 mins every time I start it just so it doesnt die when I make my first gear change  :smiley:

Alec

Offline Horney

• 10k hero
  • Racing, Trackdays, Starwars.
Re: 'G' Digi 8v wont idle at all when cold
« Reply #1 on: 04 November 2009, 14:46 »
First thing to do would be to replace the blue temp sensor on the flange coming out of the front of the block (Get gen VW not a pattern one). This tells the ECU the water temp and regulates cold running fuelling. Could well be your problem and it's good to replace these as they're not expensive and prone to failure.

The oil buzzer is more of a concern. This is telling you your oil pressure is low and this is very bad. That said 99% of the time these things go off because of a faulty switch rather than actual oil pressure problems. When is it buzzing? Above or below 2500rpm? Have you checked the oil level (Stupid question, but best check).

Nick

Offline Alec

• I live here
« Reply #2 on: 04 November 2009, 14:54 »