Author Topic: jimmerjammer - '89 8v  (Read 5710 times)

Offline jv

• Administrator
  • Serious forum addict
jimmerjammer - '89 8v
« on: 25 March 2010, 14:44 »
:)
Buy site stuff!
GolfGTI.co.uk - merchandise

Support the forum charity!
Forum Charity

Offline jimmerjammer

• Not said much yet
Re: jimmerjammer - '89 8v
« Reply #1 on: 25 March 2010, 20:29 »
Thanks JV

Hi all

Well i have been hanging around here for nearly 2 years i think now. Kept umming and arring but then something else always came up, holiday or house improvements and it has taken until now for me to bite the bullet and get myself a GTI. My brother buying a MK3 GTI has also massively spurred me on (older brother jealousy thing going on !!!)

So anyway, finally shifted the wifes BMW and as we have my ever changing company car and the wifes new Puegeot 407, there was some spare money knocking about and one empty space on the drive !

So the hunt began. What you will find out about me is that i am massively impatient. Especially after waiting for nearly 2 years !

So 2 or 3 days spent on ebay, pistonheads, here etc turned up nothing within price range. Then i thought i would check Autotrader, not really holding out much hope. To my amazement, there was a 89 GTI advertised, locally for £500. Spec read elec windows, elec sunroof, central locking, power steering, loads of MOT and tax, needs TLC, project car, drive away £500

Sounds perfect, so i rang the guy (APPARENTLY a classic car dealer) and had a chat. From this chat found out that the steering was heavy which he suspected was the power steering pump which had gone and the heater only blows cold. Did some research and found that these are fairly common faults so decided to go take a look.

Got up there about 7pm, guy was very accomodating and stayed on to wait for me. Started it, ran it up to temp, checked the oil filler cap, water levels, oil levels, checked for rust etc etc, normal drill.