Author Topic: MKII Upgrade from standard - Noob  (Read 1328 times)

Offline HARVS1789UK

• Not said much yet
MKII Upgrade from standard - Noob
« on: 19 January 2011, 15:24 »
Yes, I realise things like this have already been covered and yes I have looked through all the stickys. I am however a total noob in this respect and even most of the dumbed down articles use terms im not familiar with.

Basically I want to uprate everything audio related in the car. Its a 91 MK2 and other than the head unit everything is standard.

My question is this....If i went for some aftermarket speakers (5.25" for front doors, 6 x 9" for rear and tweeters?) as well as a modest sub (10"/12"?) to be house in an arch build in the boot and run it through an amp placed behind one of the rear door cards.

Would that:
A) leave me with a good system with good sound quality (assuming I don't go cheapo on parts) and
B) what difficulties could I encounter? Would most 5.25" speakers fit behind the original speaker grills etc.

Ive seen people suggest its a better idea to run all the speakers through the amp not just the sub, is this beneficial and does it require an amp with more channels etc?

What is the difference between 2 way and 3 way speakers? coxial/component etc? its literally like latin to me so any help would be really appreciated including any good places to buy from as all I seem to find is horrible bright logo covered speakers in huge sub housings etc that look ready to go straight into some chav mobile? Im more looking for top sound quality which is hidden away. All go and now show I guess!
HARVS

Offline dragonfly

• I live here
Re: MKII Upgrade from standard - Noob
« Reply #1 on: 19 January 2011, 15:34 »
Due to the angle of the stock door speakers - some prefer to have angled pods which also allow them to house 6.5" speakers.

Most 5.25" speaker will fit behind the stock grills.