Author Topic: RNS510 SD Card Error  (Read 8680 times)

Offline crisis123

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 32
RNS510 SD Card Error
« on: 07 October 2008, 13:46 »

Got the RNS510 in my ED30, and am having problems with the SD card slot.

When I insert the SD card, i get a message "SD Card Error, check SD Card".

I have tried formatting the SD card as FAT and FAT32, same problem. Has anyone else encountered this problem?

Also I cannot currently input a postcode, does anyone know if this is resolved by a firmware upgrade, or installation of V3 maps

Offline crisis123

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #1 on: 10 October 2008, 20:36 »
Had my RNS510 checked at VW.

Their diagnostic identified 2 faults, they have contacted VW technical department, and expect it to end up with a warranty replacement.

They're gonna ring me monday and let me know what VW say. :smiley:

Offline Top Cat

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,264
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #2 on: 10 October 2008, 21:40 »
Good news  :smiley:  I seem to remember reading somewhere that there is a back log on these units. Could be talking poop but it may take a while to get a replacement.  :undecided:

Offline crisis123

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #3 on: 11 October 2008, 20:42 »
Fingers crossed then.

At least the unit works all but the SD card, so no real issue waiting.

Offline SteveP

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,052
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #4 on: 11 October 2008, 21:36 »
Hi Crisis123,

What size SD card where you using?

Also the map versions prior to V3 did have postcode entry issues but even with v3 you can still only enter the 5 charcters (first part plus the number from the second part, e.g. AA1 1..).

Offline Fatty B

  • GTI forum regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #5 on: 11 October 2008, 21:43 »
there was a problem with early 510 units where the sat nav disc would only allow you to input the first 3 digits of the postcode. after this vw released a later version disc v4 which when loaded allows you to use 5 digit postcode search. the sd card function on the 510 is also very tricky to use see the handbook as there is about 200 conditions that have to be checked before he unit will play the sd card.
If your buying im selling!!!!!!!

Offline crisis123

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #6 on: 11 October 2008, 23:53 »
I used 2 SD cards, 512mb and 2gb. I formatted them with FAT file system and FAT32 file system, just got the same sd card error message.

My unit came with V2 maps, no postcode input at all. The option is there to input postcode/town, but does not let you input it.

V3 maps £170+VAT from dealer, £99 off Ebay, so I just downloaded V3 maps from piratebay, not gonna stick it on until I they swap the unit.

Offline crisis123

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #7 on: 14 October 2008, 22:16 »
Got a call from the dealer yesterday, the VW technical department wanted him to check my sd card in another Golf to make sure I am putting the music on the card correctly. If it works in another car he will orde me a new unit, says it should be pretty fast to get new unit.

When I booked it in i told him i couldn't get the postcode to work, he has said he will swap out my disc for a new V3 disc so I can input 5 figure postcodes, thats a turnup for the books, never expected that!! :wink:

Offline crisis123

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #8 on: 15 October 2008, 19:13 »
Sorted, replacement rns510 on order. :smiley:

Offline Fatty B

  • GTI forum regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: RNS510 SD Card Error
« Reply #9 on: 15 October 2008, 19:20 »
thats good to here that they have sorted the sd card problem and that they are swapping your sat nav disc cos they aint cheap to buy.
If your buying im selling!!!!!!!