Author Topic: How to, Midline to highline retrofit  (Read 27078 times)

Offline MaXXeH

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,528
  • Golf MK5 GTI
How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« on: 31 July 2011, 17:09 »
Well the day started fine!  I thought I would change my clocks to highline clocks.

I run into a few problems so I thought I would create a little read me for anyone else.

What is needed,

T20 (remove clocks)
T15 (remove glass)(Not needed if u don’t get USA clocks)
VCDS
VAG commander

Well it started like this,


Then load VCDS, go into Instruments-17  and take a screen shot of the coding.


Load up VAG Commander. Open channel on 07 and then select Instrument / immobilizer


Then select ”read current odometer value “  this will display your current mileage of your car (write this down or take a screen shot)
Once done select “Read security access code” this will take around 2min and it will display a 4 digit pin.   


Select “Read/write IMMO data”  This will also show your 4 digit immobilizer code.
Select read and then save,  stockclocks.bin (You will need this later to restore to your new cluster)


Now disconnect your battery  and remove your clocks ( pull out the small piece of plastic above your steering wheel and it will reveal  2 T20 screws, the clocks will just pull out)

Have a cup of tea :)

If you don’t have USA clocks you can skip this bit and go to section 2

Release the clips around your cluster and it will fall into two half’s
Once in half take the front half and remove the 3 T15 screws and release the plastic clips around the edge.
(I did this process with both of my clusters)


New and old next to each other
You can see the USA clocks have the water temp in Fahrenheit and the dial faces are different ( don’t have nice pictures like UK, they just have text  (BRAKE ect)


You don’t need to do this part but I took the glass out and gave it a good clean.


Reinstalled all the glass


All nice and clean ( sad I know)


Here is a picture of the USA cluster before I removed all the dials


I removed the dials by placing a small amount of tissue under a screw driver and applying a small amount of force to pop the dials off.


Old clusters ready for transplant :)


Installed into new cluster,  now UK version


Done the reverse and put the cluster back together


Section2
Installed the cluster into the car, reconnect battery.  The immobilizer is active and needs recoding.


Back into VAG commander  (Open channel on 07 and then select “Instrument / immobilizer” then select ” Read/write IMMO data”)
Select read and save the new clusters configuration  for backup reasons.
Once done select open, and select your old cluster configuration.  Then select write. 
Turn off the ignition and leave the car for 5 min ( Or it won’t save the new immobilizer pin)




Have some more tea :)

Now correct the car mileage
 
Open VAG commander (Open channel on 07 and then select “Instrument / immobilizer” then select “Read current odometer value”)
Enter the value from the old cluster and select “ change odometer”


All done and the car starts fine but loads of faults to correct


Load up VCDS and do a full scan and see what faults show.
I had problems with
Steering Angle (G85)
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/VW_Golf_(1K)_Steering_Assist#Adaptation
Lateral Acceleration Sensor (G200)
Brake Pressure Sensor 1 (G201)
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/VW_Golf_(1K)_Brake_Electronics_(MK60)#Coding
-------------
Oil level sensor needs enabling on USA cluster 
VCDS ( block 17, select coding)  Ender 039
Channel 039: Oil Level Sensor Adaptation
Change from 0 to 1
Will work fine
---------
Just follow the instructions and all will be fine :)

No more faults


This will work up to cluster 972(2006) for 973 i think you need some different software to change the car mileage. 974 (VW job)


Any problems give me a shout happy help :):)

Offline tech1889

  • Serious forum addict
  • *
  • Posts: 8,053
  • Mk2 GTI FTW !!
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #1 on: 31 July 2011, 18:58 »
want to retrofit highline thanks for the guide  :wink:
Mk4 Golf GTI anniversary and mk6 golf tdi :)

Offline MaXXeH

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,528
  • Golf MK5 GTI
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #2 on: 31 July 2011, 19:10 »
yea i have all the tools for the job mate, just give me a shout  :cool:

Offline tech1889

  • Serious forum addict
  • *
  • Posts: 8,053
  • Mk2 GTI FTW !!
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #3 on: 31 July 2011, 20:48 »
Cheers thatd be great just need to find some cheap diesel full clocks lol
Mk4 Golf GTI anniversary and mk6 golf tdi :)

Offline sevano

  • Just got here
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #4 on: 01 August 2011, 17:12 »
Great job mate! :shocked: :drool:
Wish I could find one skilled like you here in Singapore to do this retrofit, but can't seem to find one.
Btw, are you able to access all the functions like convenience, music etc?
And where do all the other warning lamps from the top of the midline cluster appear in the highline?
Thanks a bunch!

Offline Chris01

  • Just got here
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #5 on: 19 November 2013, 22:13 »
I'm sorry to bring this back from the dead, but this is frustrating. How did you manage to run vag commander 3.6 in windows 7? I've tried windows XP (through virtual environment), Vista and win 7 with no luck!

I got Vag Commander 5.1 and 4.5 that work but don't have the "Read/Write immo" option, which is what i need. How do you install the drivers/port in 3.6? Any links for the software are welcome.
« Last Edit: 24 November 2013, 01:56 by Chris01 »