Author Topic: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?  (Read 14515 times)

Offline gavinsouls

  • Just got here
  • *
  • Posts: 2
mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« on: 06 December 2009, 11:35 »
Hi just bought a mk4 golf and was wondering the options for changing the stereo. Only have the gamma tape stereo in there at the mo. Does the cd player for  this play mp3 files at all or would i be better off changing the whole unit for a double din player. Need to know what double din players fit, not worried about sat nav or dvd players either.

Any help would be appreciated.

cheers

gavin

Offline troublestarter

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,247
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #1 on: 06 December 2009, 12:32 »
any double din unit will fit
bare in mind though that if you buy a far eastern double din unit you may need the autoleads facia part number fp-17-00 as some of those units do not come with a cage and therefore will not fit correctly
www.awesomeautomotive.co.uk<br />mobile vehicle security & audio fitting service<br />insurance accredited

Offline gavinsouls

  • Just got here
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #2 on: 06 December 2009, 12:42 »
does it matter if the double din player is out of a mk5 golf or any other vw at all?

Offline troublestarter

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,247
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #3 on: 06 December 2009, 12:48 »
mk5 golf units will not fit atall they are a different shape
any AFTERMARKET double din will fit
www.awesomeautomotive.co.uk<br />mobile vehicle security & audio fitting service<br />insurance accredited

Offline Rhyso

  • Global Moderator
  • Sir Postalot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26,833
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #4 on: 06 December 2009, 12:49 »
does it matter if the double din player is out of a mk5 golf or any other vw at all?

it does - MK5 will not fit as they are wider than the MK4's

I've got this one
http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/pioneer-fh-p80bt.html



Had it 15 months no and I can't fault it  :smiley:

Offline troublestarter

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,247
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #5 on: 06 December 2009, 13:13 »
also the double din from a later polo will not fit as the mk4 golf has a standard iso plug and a din aerial whereas the polo has a fakra plug and a fakra aerial plug
this is the unit i have in mine
www.awesomeautomotive.co.uk<br />mobile vehicle security & audio fitting service<br />insurance accredited

Offline ipswich1.8t

  • GTI forum regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #6 on: 06 December 2009, 13:14 »
this is mine ...also awesome ...




Offline jonesltd

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,135
  • MK6 GTD
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #7 on: 06 December 2009, 16:11 »
I have a pioneer 900bt and fits nice and snug on my mk4
If you cant find it......Grind it

Offline mowlamb

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,532
  • MK4 GT TDI 130 - DERV POWER!!
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #8 on: 13 December 2009, 19:14 »
does it matter if the double din player is out of a mk5 golf or any other vw at all?

it does - MK5 will not fit as they are wider than the MK4's

I've got this one
http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/pioneer-fh-p80bt.html



SOrry to hijack the thread but one quick question, how does the bluetooth work on these?

Had it 15 months no and I can't fault it  :smiley:

Offline Rhyso

  • Global Moderator
  • Sir Postalot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26,833
Re: mk 4 , which stereos will fit, double din that is?
« Reply #9 on: 13 December 2009, 19:26 »
SOrry to hijack the thread but one quick question, how does the bluetooth work on these?

integrated into the unit itself

all you got to do is pair your phone as if it was a headset and away you go.  You can use the unit to scroll your phonebook and setup speed dials so no faffing around with your phone  :smiley: