Author Topic: How To: Use Depth of Field  (Read 10444 times)

Offline T_J_G

  • Serious forum addict
  • *
  • Posts: 8,279
  • Location: Kent
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #10 on: 16 November 2012, 20:56 »
Use a low aperture (f1.8 is ideal) and then focus on the part you want in focus.

Offline jonnym

  • Not said much yet
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Location: Herts
  • Candy White Mk5 Golf GTi
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #11 on: 16 November 2012, 22:00 »
Use a low aperture (f1.8 is ideal) and then focus on the part you want in focus.

Ahh so the same aperture as for the foreground shot. I understand now! Thank you!!

Offline T_J_G

  • Serious forum addict
  • *
  • Posts: 8,279
  • Location: Kent
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #12 on: 17 November 2012, 10:04 »
Yeah just focus on a different part. Try manual focus to get it spot on.

LakerLover

  • Guest
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #13 on: 26 January 2013, 16:27 »
i have a Canon 300D old school but just as good :) my aperture goes like this -2..1..0..1..+2    can you tell me witch gives me background focus or the opposite background blur i dont have the f settings  :undecided: please help  :smiley:

Offline shepgti

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,900
  • Location: oxfordshire
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #14 on: 26 January 2013, 16:43 »
i have a Canon 300D old school but just as good :) my aperture goes like this -2..1..0..1..+2    can you tell me witch gives me background focus or the opposite background blur i dont have the f settings  :undecided: please help  :smiley:

thats not your aperture, sounds like exposure compensation settings or bracketing settings.

aperture will start with F

LakerLover

  • Guest
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #15 on: 26 January 2013, 22:06 »
i have no F setting in TV, P or AV  :shocked: il google it  :smiley:

Offline shepgti

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,900
  • Location: oxfordshire
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #16 on: 26 January 2013, 22:41 »
i have no F setting in TV, P or AV  :shocked: il google it  :smiley:

av is aperture priority on a canon so then you can choose your f stop with the thumb/finger wheels

Offline DubFan

  • I live here
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,439
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #17 on: 26 January 2013, 23:07 »
i have no F setting in TV, P or AV  :shocked: il google it  :smiley:

Watch the following videos from Canon:

Here's an explanation of aperture (f-stops), shutter speeds and ISO. http://youtu.be/DBshTYrFbKI

Introduction to shooting modes on Canon: http://youtu.be/S2YSzyPQow0

Introduction to Depth of Field: http://youtu.be/l3zdybilbCY

Actually there's quite a few good videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/CanonAustralia/videos?view=0


LakerLover

  • Guest
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #18 on: 29 January 2013, 16:31 »
So on AV setting om my Canon 300D Have no F but the number on AV setting go from 5.6 to 36 does that sound right! appreciate all the help, i must sound like a right fool :/ had my camera for 5 years and only starting to use it to its full potential :/   

LakerLover

  • Guest
Re: How To: Use Depth of Field
« Reply #19 on: 29 January 2013, 16:34 »
ok its going from 3.5 to 22 now :/ that sounds more right!!