GolfGTIforum.co.uk

General => Site news & bright ideas => Topic started by: DaveGTiMK on 09 April 2008, 10:41

Title: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: DaveGTiMK on 09 April 2008, 10:41
Can you make the location section of the profile a bit that you HAVE to fill in, one of the most common questions that get asked on here is "Where you at?"

People sell stuff or arrange meets and forget to put where your from, its a tad annoying.
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: Rhyso on 09 April 2008, 11:21
but surely people have a right to privacy hence why its left to us to decide whether or not we fill it in
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: DaveGTiMK on 09 April 2008, 12:35
I agree, but in that case what have you got to hide?

Its not like I am asking to see your address or anything just a rough location.

That is what the box is for.

I just wish people would use their brains when it comes to selling stuff or swaps etc, if you look in the forsale section the question of where your from comes up frequently.

Perhaps I should be less trusting myself and hide some of my details, just incase those kiddy fiddlers come looking for me.
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: AlanD on 09 April 2008, 18:16
Are people going to come looking for me in Croydon now :( ?
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: Neaty on 09 April 2008, 20:48
isn't that what the location part is for on the left hand side?  :huh:
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: Dinky on 09 April 2008, 21:22
Thats what he's saying Neaty, as in make people fill in a location...
Mine says north east "for a rough guide" but alot of people know where i live...even my full address :shocked: :laugh:

Dinx :kiss:
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: topher on 09 April 2008, 21:46
if we force people to fill in a location.. they'll probably just lie anyway
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: DaveGTiMK on 10 April 2008, 08:55
if we force people to fill in a location.. they'll probably just lie anyway

its a club, surely we attract like minded individuals that want to talk Golf?

maybe a drop down box with areas in it, like Buckinghamshire, Yorkshire etc rather than the town or city could work.
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: topher on 10 April 2008, 09:02
not sure if thats possible.. i had to hack the forum code just to get the location whatsit as it is now

i'll take a look when i get a spare half hour
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: Ben Lessani on 10 April 2008, 11:40
It would be easy to do, just an an

Code: [Select]
&& (isset['location_tag'])

Where the normal validation is for other forced fields - just tag that into it...
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: topher on 10 April 2008, 11:44
forcing it is easy yeah.. i meant the dropdown box, i dont think its just a case of playing with the stylesheet

edit: actually, no sod it.. that kind of information doesn't need to be public. If people don't want to advertise where they are from, so be it.
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: DaveGTiMK on 10 April 2008, 12:28
forcing it is easy yeah.. i meant the dropdown box, i dont think its just a case of playing with the stylesheet

edit: actually, no sod it.. that kind of information doesn't need to be public. If people don't want to advertise where they are from, so be it.

furry muff. :lipsrsealed:
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: topher on 10 April 2008, 12:34
i realise that may have come across as arsey... it wasn't.. thats just me :grin:
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: Len on 10 April 2008, 12:44
You arsey? Nooooooooo! never! :rolleyes:
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: AlanD on 10 April 2008, 20:09
Topher is number one happy smiley person  :cool:
Title: Re: WHERE ARE YOU?
Post by: jv on 10 April 2008, 20:34
Only when he is thinking of http://www.golfgtiforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=82858.0