Author Topic: *HOW TO* - Replace front and rear top mounts.  (Read 33693 times)

Offline Big Tone

• I live here
*HOW TO* - Replace front and rear top mounts.
« on: 01 July 2011, 21:46 »
Couldn't find info on here so I thought I'd write mine up for other people in future.

Please feel free to add/suggest info.

This is how to replace the fronts without removing the strut, this requires spring compressors.

I am no mechanical genius, all I can say is that this is how I did it and it worked for me.

Fronts.

Tools;

Trolley Jack
Axle stands (x2)
21mm spark plug socket (Must be able to slot a 7mm allen key through the centre, and hold the hex section with a spanner)
Spanner to fit hex section of spark plug socket
Spring compressors

1. Jack Car up and support on axle stands.

2. Remove front wheels.

3. Using a trolley jack AT THE BALL JOINT, jack up the strut until the spring compressors can be fitted. (I compressed the spring SLIGHTLY)

4. Fit spring compressors at suitable points on the spring.

5. Using a 21mm spark plug socket with a 7mm allen key through the middle, undo the top nut and top plate. (You will need to use something to hold the allen key which holds the centre "stud" in position, I used an extension from the socket set.)

6.Compress the spring evenly with the compressors.

The compressors I had were not just quite long enough to reach onto the next helix.

7. Using the same method as before undo the bottom nut.

8. Lower the jack to drop the strut from the mounting.

9. Remove the mount, bearing and top plate.

BE CAREFUL - WORKING WITH FINGERS BETWEEN THE SPRING IS DANGEROUS UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND THE EQUIPMENT YOU ARE USING IS SUITABLE FOR THE JOB AND IN GOOD CONDITION -  DONT TAKE ANY RISKS.

10. Clean up the top plate and inside of bush housing.

11. Replace top plate, bearing and bush in reverse order as removed.

12. Jack up the strut into place.

13. Tighten the bottom nut.