Author Topic: recommend me a camera  (Read 1804 times)

VW BUSH

recommend me a camera
« on: 26 October 2013, 11:32 »
Recommend me a compact camera for around 300.
I do a lot of travelling so it needs to be hand luggage friendly and able to take good close up shots for work but able to take in landscapes and nature pics etc.
Currently have a little lumia which is fine for work stuff but a bit naff for when I get outside the factory im visiting.
I am a total noob so ease of use is a big factor for me.
I have no record of all the things I see and do and a huge empty hard drive. ....

Offline Diamond Hell

• Serious forum addict
  • Opinions я Us
Re: recommend me a camera
« Reply #1 on: 27 October 2013, 13:08 »
Fuji X20

Sony RX100

Both have fast lenses and large(er) sensors.  They also have a lot of clever sh*t in on-board image processing.  They also shoot raw.

I would have the X20 over the RX100 and buy one of these for it:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/JJC-ALC-X10-Auto-Fujifilm-FinePix/dp/B006VTQERM

The most annoying feature of the X10/20 is the pull off and lose lens cap.
Just because you're offended doesn't make you right.

Holiday cottages on the Isle of Wight for 2-10 people? PM me.

Offline Ridg

• I live here
  • TDI - Soot Happens!
« Reply #2 on: 27 October 2013, 15:22 »
you might want to consider the super zoom type too, something like;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-TZ40EB-K-Compact-Camera/dp/B00BET11MM/ref=sr_1_7?s=photo&ie=UTF8&qid=1382886459&sr=1-7

that will give you a 20x zoom over the 4 or 5x you're going to get on a prosumer type camera that focus on IQ opposed from versatility.

The downside of the travel compacts / superzoom is the image processing wont be as good as the likes of the X20, G16, coolpix 7800 etc however they offer the zoom levels that you might want whilst travelling.