Author Topic: Seanls Corrado VR6  (Read 37178 times)

Offline Seanl

• I live here
Seanls Corrado VR6
« on: 31 March 2013, 08:22 »
Thought I'd start a new thread alongside the Project one, so everyone can comment/post feedback etc.

Right the Valver was written off last June thanks to some Knob in a Range Rover deciding he didn't do stopping for red lights at 40, and ploughed into the back of the bloke behind me, who smashed into me and so on, causing a 5 car smash up.
 I'm now the proud owner of a Classic Green VR6 that I'm not so proud to be seen in! It needs alot of work!  Its badged as a Storm, but was registered in Feb 95, whereas Storms should be registered from May 95 onwards. It was owned by the dealer first, so I'm gonna phone VW in MK as they have the records, but I'm not counting on it.

Got it for a reasonable price, so I'm just beginning to get it cleaned up to see where it truly is. Bodywork has a few dings and lots of scuffs, as well as a small amount of rust. Few bits of lacquer peel too. Interior has been absolutely butchered to fit a stupid sound system, leather on the bolster is knackered, and the wiring is the worst I've ever come across! Remnants of three old alarm systems just snipped out and bare and exposed cable left everywhere, sound system was twisted wire left exposed to short itself on everything! and the engine doesn't turn off when the lights are on - And only half of them work! Wheels are in desperate need of refirb, and the rocker gasket is pissing oil. It was dickhead low, so the sump is smashed to bits too. Passanger heated seat doesn't work, and ABS light display plug has been mashed up so I don't even know where that is yet. Calipers have been painted by what looks like a 4 year old, with paint all over the pads and slider pin boots, so they also need a refirb.

On the plus side, it had Chains, Guides and Tensioners changed 9 months ago at a cost of £970! (didn't pay too much more than this alone) and it drives really well!