Author Topic: Hillclimb/sprint  (Read 4872 times)

Offline andymr

• Just got here
Hillclimb/sprint
« on: 29 March 2010, 16:42 »
Hi Guys

Newbie here, I've been given a bog standard mk2 gti 1.8, 8 valver and plan to race it. I have a budget of 2k max excluding tyres (which will be slicks), I also have reasonable mechanical skills. the 64k question how would you spend this budget for best performance against the clock?

I'm thinking, full strip, small tank, then your sugestions re engine, cage, suspension, wheels, brakes, exhaust etc, thinking twin webers??? Have all personal race gear required.

I should clarify a little, actually my last car was a pug 205 685kg and 250 bhp believe it or not, i then packed it in. When A mate said i've got this golf mk2 lets have some fun, well I could'nt resist. So I need to to know what cam, what suspension, exhaust, brakes etc on a 2k budget I realise I aint gona break any records but what the heck it's in the blood, even at 60 I miss the adrenalin buzz!!!

Andy

Cheers

Andy

Offline Stu.750

• I live here
  • MMMMMMM Rust my favourite
Re: Hillclimb/sprint
« Reply #1 on: 29 March 2010, 18:09 »
Welcome mate , Love to see some Pics of the 205

I suppose what class you looking at running will dictate how far the engine can go , id aim for some better suspension , maybe fixed height and adjustable damping

it doesnt say what year your car is so this will depends on what stoppers it has from the box

Offline DOA

• I live here
« Reply #2 on: 29 March 2010, 19:13 »
Thankfully the blue book is now online at http://www.msauk.org/site/cms/contentviewarticle.asp?article=876 though if you have done this sort of thing before you no doubt have an idea what class you want to run in and roughly what you can do/get away with.

For my tuppeneth worth and your budget Id go for the following:
Full interior strip including sound deadening
Replace all gear linkage bushes if at all wobbly (ebay)
Good quality coilovers with adjustable damping