Author Topic: Hello everyone - 1st time future golf owner (hopefully)  (Read 2512 times)

Offline paddy_da_pikey

• Just got here
Hello all,

I am looking to buy my first ever golf - my budget is around 5k and for this I believe I will be looking at a Mk 5 GTI 2.0 (im not too technical sorry)

I really like the look of the car but when searching online used car sites I have a few questions I will ask here but if there is a sub forum that is better maybe it could be moved there?

1) 17" alloys vs 18" alloys vs standard or diamond cut?
I found I really like the look of the larger wheel with the more shiny surface but seems less comon. Alot of ads for used cars say 18" but the wheel looks different on some cars? Why is this?

2) Colour schemes?
What are the best colours? I like Black and a very dark Grey like charcoal colour but I cant find the actual term to describe the exact colour I want as I believe there are numerous variables of grey and metalic or not

3) Leather interior appears to be a must - what are peoples thoughts on the checquered seats? Im not so keen?

4) Steering wheel - some steering wheels have nobs and buttons on them for controls in the GTI some are just plain. How do you know which one is which and why some have the buttons and others dont?

5) Paddle shift vs manual? - I really thought i would love this function and it would be fun and sporty like a driving simulator but have read many reviews saying not so fun, unreliable and expensive to fix?

Can someone finally answer this age old question and make my decision for me? haha

Ultimately I want

Mk5 GTI - Full leather interior - 5 door - Metalic Black / Metalic Dark Grey / Metalic Dark Blue - in good condition with full service history in either manual or paddle shift (not decided that part yet hopefully someone can advise on the fun and reliability factors)

Anyway thanks for welcoming me to your forum and I hope to be joining the Golf owners club soon.

Thank You