Author Topic: Water laying in windscreen wiper tray  (Read 943 times)

Offline GOLFA1

• Just got here
Water laying in windscreen wiper tray
« on: 20 January 2018, 15:09 »
Hi,
I am new to both this forum and the GOLF MK 7.5 so hello to all. It is raining here in London and I have just noticed that water is laying in the windscreen wiper tray and not draining. I have looked to see if anything was blocked but seems to me there are nowhere for the water to drain away or at least I can't find any?

Any help would be appreciated or is this a trip to the dealers to sort out as the car is under warranty I have only had it 3 weeks.

Kind regards
Ray

Bury my heart at Wounded Knee

Offline Watts

• Forum addict
Re: Water laying in windscreen wiper tray
« Reply #1 on: 20 January 2018, 17:44 »
Hi Ray, welcome to the forum :smiley:

Unless my memory fails me, there is just the one drain point at the extremity of the tray though I don't recall which end. If the car is parked on a camber the water could be collecting at the wrong end thus not draining. Pretty sure you'll be fine. Have a look over on the MK7 model specific section http://www.golfgtiforum.co.uk/index.php?board=117.0 , loads of help and information there to help you get the most from your car. What exactly have you got?
2019 Oryx White 5dr TCR.

Was - 2015 Tornado Red 3dr GTI PP, manual, Santiagos, Audi short shifter.

Offline GOLFA1

• Just got here
« Reply #2 on: 20 January 2018, 18:34 »
Hi Watts,
Thanks for the welcome, after a lot of searching and head banging I found it is exactly what you say just one drain hole which is located on the drivers side! My car is parked on a camber with drivers side at the top of it so that the passengers side is lower so the water is pooling on that side. A bad design fault in my opinion on VW part!