Author Topic: My rides, soon to become ride!  (Read 8347 times)

Offline HamiltonGL

• Not said much yet
My rides, soon to become ride!
« on: 27 July 2012, 11:07 »
Hi all,

This is my first attempt at anything like this but I'm optimistically confident I can get the project done. I own a 1985 Mk2 1.6 GL(Below) which i picked up last year with low milage for its year (87K), almost mint condition interior throughout and only faults bar a few small dings were, bonnet had a small warp, both front arches had rot where the splitter joins and two small patches of surace rust. Overall for its year it was very clean!

Anyway I got to work on it with a few touches including by spending 6 months searching for a new OEM chrome 7 slat grill, which cost me a small fortune when i did find it. Its pretty much as i got it with th addition of upgraded Infinity speakers all round, GTi Teardrops, Lamin-X tint for the headlights, replacement bonnet and a bra.

Few shots of the Mk2

With new bonnet, light tints and grill

As it stands recently with the Teardrops. Bit dirty but after 6 weeks of constant rain, I wasnt wasting my time trying to deep clean her.

I was aiming for a show(ish) ready car this year but just had a little girl so things have basically been put back by 9 months or so. My first plans were to source two new early OEM wings(still searching and hoping i dont have to do the repro thing) and a bonnet and get them sprayed up to complete the front end for now but due to baby it was put on hold.

Now baby is here and in health, I am getting back into the car again. I have been in a pickle as to go on with my body wrok plans or to do a conversion of sorts to replace the sluggish 1.6 engine which just wasnt powerful enough for me.