Author Topic: Detailing newbie... product recomendations  (Read 24692 times)

Offline davewilliams000

• GTI forum regular
Detailing newbie... product recomendations
« on: 22 January 2016, 18:44 »
Picking up my Mk7 GTD next week, and decided I really need to look after this car so want to keep it nice and clean. Am new to detailing as previous cars have just been rinsed using pressure washer, washed using shampoo and then rinsed down again before drying.

I've read the detailing guides and got the gist of 2 bucket method etc

I want to try and keep it as simple as possible to begin with so am looking for good recommendations on some products as I am new to all this. I've been looking at wo-wo washmits and towels and like the look of those, and also the wheel woollies set (so I can clean the grill as well as the wheels, as recommended on another post about GTD), but I have no idea about shampoos, pre-cleaning stuff, wheel cleaning sprays and wax etc. Don't think I am quite ready to invest in a snow foam gadget for the pressure washer straight away, but I imagine I will get bitten by the detailing bug so probably won't be long!

Ideally I would like to try and give the car a quick wash every 1-2 weeks and then spend more time on it once a month.

Thanks,

Dave
2015 65 plate Mk7 GTD Manual in Tornado Red

https://www.flickr.com/photos/davewilliams000

Offline Booth11

• Serious forum addict
Re: Detailing newbie... product recomendations
« Reply #1 on: 22 January 2016, 20:20 »
Hi Dave, welcome to the forum, and detailing section.  :smiley:

Sounds like you've got the basics covered but here's a bit of info and some product recommendations alongside the various stages

Not sure what guides you've looked at, but check out the links below for good advice on various techniques - washing and drying, etc. 

Links to Methods and techniques
http://www.polishedbliss.co.uk/acatalog/car-care-advice.html
http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/index.php?_a=viewDoc&docId=5