Author Topic: Removing holograms on new paint.(NOW WITH PICS)  (Read 5612 times)

Offline LowlifeDubber

• I live here
Ayup lads,ive just recieved my car back from the bodyshop after having a full respray and while im very happy with the paint work in general it seems during the final buffing there is a little hologramming going on.

Im fairly new to detailing but have a big list of gear ive accrued while it has been in paint.I dont want to use a da or rotary just yet but i would like to get rid of the hologramming by hand.

here is the list of stuff i have got.
2 spangly buckets with lids
1 grit guard
2 Meguiars lambswool wash mitts
1 Elite car care snow foam
4 Lakeland dimpled polish applicators.
10 Dodojuice fantastic fur microfibre cloths
2 Dodojuice Waffle weave cloths
2 Meguiars Terry towel cloths
Meguiars 205 ultra finish polish
Poor boys black hole
Poor boys bug and tar remover
Poor boys Quick Detailer plus
Poor boys spray and gloss
Poor boys bug squach
2 Dodo juice finger mitt
Dodo juice Supernatural wax
Autoglym Bumper care

Now would i be able to use the Meguiars 205 ultra finish polish by hand to remove the hologramming?

Also i have been doing some searching and ive read that it would be best to do it while the paint is still fresh(been baked and has been sprayed since monday) as it is easier to do now than later on.

Any advice would be great.
Heres some pics but you cant see it too much)

Just so you know it is a bit of a pain for me to take it back as it is a fair way away and i would have to trailer it.So would rather sort it myself if poss.
« Last Edit: 06 June 2011, 07:44 by LowlifeDubber »

Offline Guy

• Forum addict
Re: Removing holograms on new paint.
« Reply #1 on: 21 May 2011, 20:17 »
you need this polish in your life
http://www.i4detailing.co.uk/acatalog/3M_Perfect_it_III_Ultrafina_SE_1.html#a3M50383

I am not 100% but i think you'd only get results with that using a machine polisher though