Author Topic: Advice for washing my Mk7 GTI  (Read 6905 times)

Offline Bingham67

• Not said much yet
Advice for washing my Mk7 GTI
« on: 14 October 2013, 11:25 »
I am a total noob for washing car so need advice in basic terms im not looking to go mad but a wash once before go back to work should do the trick.

I have been reading other threads here lambswool mitt, grit guard, drying towel can someone point me in direction of the best ones to buy. As for cleaners i read Autosmart duet is good so think i am going to buy some of that, also what the best method for cleaning wheels/alloy etc.

Also being not so great weather at moment the inside carpets already muddy and got bit of hay etc joys of living near country roads what do i need to clean carpets?

Also could someone explain the method please of cleaning in basic terms as possible many thanks in advance.

Offline AaronMc

• Not said much yet
  • GTI Life..
Re: Advice for washing my Mk7 GTI
« Reply #1 on: 14 October 2013, 12:09 »
Good that your looking to get into it mate, its very addictive once starting!

Mitt I would go for a Lambswool Ones or the Dooka Wash Pad. They arent cheap at £18.95 but will last you forever if looked after, and is well worth the pricetag! The Dooka ones are available of their own website.

Grit guards are available on all car cleaning sites, so just get whichever one, and 2 decent buckets.

Drying towel go for the large fluffy ones, such as http://www.i4detailing.co.uk/acatalog/I4D_Uber_Premium_Drying_Towel_1.html#aUBERDRY

As for shampoo., Autosmart Duet is good as it can be bought in large bulks, and will last you ages if just for your own car, and has an element of protection too it, but still get a good base wax on the car as the wax in Duet wont do the same as a decent wax on the car first.