Author Topic: Got broken into last night - how to replace rear quarter glass?  (Read 16790 times)

Offline Iron Tam

• Not said much yet
Came out this morning to find some scroat had smashed the quarter-light glass on the rear passenger door. Angry at finding nothing to steal (not even the old Sony CD player is worth stealing). The toe-rag spotted the glove-box.

Now, my dad broke the latch on the glove-box and I've been meaning to fix it for over a year. But our little div didn't know that, and mistakenly thinking it was locked, (and therefore must contain valuables) he set about trying to open it with a screwdriver.

Unsuccessfully.

But did leave me with deep furrows in my dashboard.  :cry:

Taped up some cardboard over the hole and swept up the mess. Intend to phone the police (to keep their stats correct) and plan a trip to the scrappy in the morning to find a replacement. So, a couple of quick questions:

• Is it an easy one to replace? (I've never done glass before). Does anyone have a guide on the best way to fit a new one?
  • Is the rear quarter-light the same size on the mk3 & mk4? (Would give me a bigger pool to choose from).

Thanks, Tam.

Offline axewielder

• I live here
  • 95 dragon 8v
pretty easy, dont think mk4 is the same but theres plenty of mk3s in scrappys, remove trim from inside door, undo glass clamps+ remove main glass from top, the vertical metal bar that seperates the main + quater glass is held in by a screw at the top hidden in between the rubber, then remove + replace

Offline Iron Tam

• Not said much yet
Cheers axewielder.

Of course, It'll be whatever I do to get it out the donor vehicle, in reverse!

Offline Walkerboy

• I live here
yer watch out 4 the hidden screw as the other dude said.oh make sure its the rite colour also as ur get home wack it in,then c the difference

kells

screw can be a bar steward so use a decent driver.

Offline Iron Tam

• Not said much yet
Cheers for the heads up RE the screw, came in handy...