Author Topic: Tyre Choices. Help?  (Read 1901 times)

thinker_monkey

Tyre Choices. Help?
« on: 27 October 2017, 09:59 »
Morning everyone,

So I need to get some tyres for the MK6 and I'm torn between getting one of the below three choices  :undecided: :

Good Year Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (£81.30 per tyre)
Continental Sport Contact 5 (£93.70 per tyre)
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (£100.20 per tyre)

What I would like to know is has anyone on here had experience with any of these tyres? And what were your thoughts?

Thanks in advance for the help

Offline seabrook132

• I live here
Re: Tyre Choices. Help?
« Reply #1 on: 27 October 2017, 11:31 »
Hi,

I've got no experience with Conti Sport Contact 5 so afraid I can't offer an opinion on those. However I am currently running Pilot Sport 4 having swapped from Eagle F1 Assymetric 3.

The Goodyears are a great tyre. I ran Eagle F1 Assymetric 3 for approx 35k and before that I had used two sets of the Assymetric 2 (one set on the Golf and another on my previous car). They really do everything very well. Good dry and wet grip, very stable under braking and they have a fairly soft sidewall that gives good comfort. I found the lack of noise from them was also very good. The trade-off with that slightly softer sidewall is that initial turn in to corners isn't quite as sharp as some. It's certainly not a dealbreaker though and it's only really apparent if you're pushing or drive it back to back with another tyre. They wear very well too, both sets of Eagle F1s I put on the GTI lasted me 35k or thereabouts with some rotation front to back.