Author Topic: I Fancy a mk2  (Read 8797 times)

Offline tech1889

• Serious forum addict
  • Mk2 GTI FTW !!
I Fancy a mk2
« on: 14 November 2010, 17:22 »
Hi guys im new to the mk2 section im normally in the mk4 section..

I love the mk2 and have just got permission from the parents to have a little mk2 as a bit of a project car..

I was wondering if there was a buying guide or such about.. ??

I want a 3 door GTI i know there are 8v and 16v variants and also a G60 ?? Is there others..

Whats the best model to get and of what age.. I was thinking of doing the VR conversion as my friend has a VR sitting in his garage i could nick off him  :grin: ... ??

So what do i have to look out for guys when buying and how to tell if its a lemon..

I am by no means a professional mechanic but am handy enough with a spanner so i don't want want a massive bare shell respray and rebuild etc.. just something i can tinker with for a year or so get it fit for the roads.. How much am i looking to payfor a car like this ??

Sorry for the 21 questions

Dan
Mk4 Golf GTI anniversary and mk6 golf tdi :)

Offline The Mighty Elvi

• I live here
  • I'm better than you today.
Re: I Fancy a mk2
« Reply #1 on: 14 November 2010, 17:40 »
You should know by now to use the search function.  :grin:

Offline tech1889

• Serious forum addict
  • Mk2 GTI FTW !!
« Reply #2 on: 14 November 2010, 17:49 »
I should but i want all the info in one place so its easier for me to read.. Im sure people wont mind asnwering anyways.. no ?

Offline The Mighty Elvi

• I live here
  • I'm better than you today.
« Reply #3 on: 14 November 2010, 18:06 »
Buy a 90 spec (big Bumper) Mk2 as the loom is different and makes engine conversions easier - you tell these apart as they have the hazard light on the steering column.  Pre 90 spec one had it on the dash.

Body condition is more important than engine milage/age as engines can easily be fixed/replaced.