Author Topic: New member looking for some advice  (Read 5875 times)

steve12345

New member looking for some advice
« on: 18 February 2019, 11:09 »
Hi all,

I'm new to GTI's and VW infact, but I've always liked the look of them.

My questions really are around practicality. I have no doubt the performance etc will be way above my expectations.

My current car is a 2014 BMW 116D M sport. Ignoring performance etc here are a few of the issues with this car:

1. M-sport suspension very stiff. For the driver its great, handles & drives really nice. For passengers however it means uncomfortable bumpy ride.

2. Rear doors are slim - getting the baby seat in is a little tight, also car is quite low which doesn't help.

3. Rear seat comfort - If you have two people in the back, or in my case baby seat and one adult. Its quite uncomfortable over long journeys. The back rests are angled in a little. and with the bumpy ride its worse in the back.

We only started using the rear seats recently when baby arrived, so I guess if anyone else has a small family how do you find the GTI as a daily car?

I'd be looking at a Mark 7 GTI (not the new 7.5) from around 2014/2015/2016, most on the second hand market don't come with the dynamic chassis option.

Has anyone gone from a BMW msport to a GTI? how do you find the stock suspension? it is comfortable for passengers? Should i be worried about any of the above with a GTI?

Also do you have any other advice or things I should look out for on a second hand GTI?

Thanks in advance

Offline Jim_mk7.5

• I live here
Re: New member looking for some advice
« Reply #1 on: 18 February 2019, 11:20 »