Author Topic: App Connect question on Golf GTi 7 2016  (Read 3290 times)

Offline aksimmo

• Not said much yet
App Connect question on Golf GTi 7 2016
« on: 30 November 2018, 17:38 »
Hi - this may seem a silly question but I am new to VW and couldn't see an answer on search.

Is APP Connect worth having on a Golf 7 and what can it be used for?

I have the satnav pro in my Gti and have been advised the upgrade cost is £237 fitted - is it worth it?

Many thanks for any replies

Ash

Offline Guzzle

• I live here
Re: App Connect question on Golf GTi 7 2016
« Reply #1 on: 30 November 2018, 19:01 »
App Connect allows you to mirror your smartphone on the screen of your infotainment unit. If you have an iPhone you'll be able to use CarPlay, or Android phones you'll be able to use Android Auto.

I have it in my car, but to be honest I've only ever used it once. I prefer to use the built-in maps and listen to music through my iPod Classic.

Do you have an MIB2 head unit? If you don't have the App Connect icon on your screen then your head unit won't be compatible. Here's a video;-

https://youtu.be/utvo61hR5Lk
7.5 GTD

Offline aksimmo

• Not said much yet
« Reply #2 on: 30 November 2018, 21:02 »
Thanks that’s really helpful. I guess as I have sat nav there aren’t too many apps I’d need to mirror so maybe not worth it.

I do have the app connect icon just says I need a dealer key.

Thanks for your help

Offline fredgroves

• Serious forum addict
  • Professional Um Bongo drinker
« Reply #3 on: 30 November 2018, 23:44 »
I love AndroidAuto!

Waze (far superior to VW nav - and I have a Mk7.5 navpro), facebook and whatsapp messages, tunein radio, iplayer radio... all brilliant things.
Current: Mk8 GTI DSG, Adelaides, DCC, HUD, HK, Winter Pack, Rear Camera.. Aka "HMS Weasel"

Gone: 2017 Mk7.5 GTD,manual, NavPro
Gone: 2014 Mk7 GTD, manual, NavPro, DCC

Offline Golf_GT_TDI

• I live here
  • 2015 (65) Golf GTD, 2016 (66) Golf GTI
« Reply #4 on: 01 December 2018, 06:25 »