Author Topic: getting started, help needed.  (Read 3753 times)

Offline beppe2672

• Here all the time
getting started, help needed.
« on: 09 February 2013, 15:16 »
Hey guys, I'm a mechanic in the British army and I've come up with the idea of starting a 'car club' at work.
 The idea is to essentially create a track car whilst giving the younger/newer vehicle mechanics experience working on actual cars instead of tanks and trucks. We have a fully equipped work shop, our own metalsmiths/welders, access to raw materials but limited funding (unless I can source sponsorship). I just want to be able to teach our vm's a few things whilst having a bit of fun and having something to show for it at the end. Ideally I'd like to start with a vw platform as its something I'm familiar with (I'm on my 6th golf). Any ideas where to start?
 I'm a complete noob when it comes to building a track car and my racing experience is limited to a few laps of the Nuremberg ring and 2 runs down the 1/4mile strip at santa pod in my ed30. I appologise for the wall of txt but I could do with some advise!     
1999 1.8t AGU, KNN Panel filter, Smoothed air box, Custom CAI, Forge 007 dv, REVO stage 1, 3" eBay TBE. Audi TT quickrack.

To come - A DIY hybrid K03 and a whole lot of supporting mods!

Offline Reem Racing

• GTI forum regular
Re: getting started, help needed.
« Reply #1 on: 09 February 2013, 18:56 »
What car you thinking of starting on mate?

The Volkswagen drag racing club have a test day on the 15th March at Santa pod which would be a good chance to check out drag racing

Offline JC

• Global Moderator
  • 10k hero
  • Back in the North.
« Reply #2 on: 09 February 2013, 18:59 »
I am guessing the Army will have the equivalent  of the RAFMSA - royal air force motor sports assoc. ?

maybe worth while contacting them for advice and assistance regarding an official way forward. :afro:

Offline beppe2672

• Here all the time
« Reply #3 on: 09 February 2013, 20:58 »