Author Topic: car temp  (Read 3130 times)

Offline lamplighter

• Not said much yet
car temp
« on: 30 November 2016, 21:23 »
Hello I'm new to the mk5 scene just got my first mk5 gti dsg on a 57 plate 29k on the clock  big change for me from my mk4 150 gti. I had the cambelt and pump done as the previous owner has never had it done in his words haven't got to 40k yet LOL.

My question is that the car now takes a long time to get to 90 degree's when i mean a long time about 5 miles which i don't think is normal as my old mk4 warmed up very quickly with in a mile and a half  i popped down to my local TPS today to get a temp sensor and new seal  is there any pit falls in changing the sensor on the mk5  as the mk4 was very easy to do .is there  any thing else i should be looking for that might cause this problem i know the thermostat is a pitta of a job on the mk5 so hope i don't have to change that.

Feedback would be great

Lamps     

Offline The ANT

• Here all the time
Re: car temp
« Reply #1 on: 30 November 2016, 22:45 »
Remember its not summer at the moment, my mk6 takes 5/6 miles or so of open road to reach 90° at the moment.

I dont know but i would this a 200 bhp mk5 gti would have a more efficient radiator than a 150 bhp mk4 gti.

Sounds like it heats up about the same as my mk6 does.
Suffering from a severe and unforgiving case of GTItis

Offline itavaltalainen

• I live here
  • VCDS and VCP - fault codes, coding, VIM activation
« Reply #2 on: 01 December 2016, 06:22 »
5 miles to get to 90?
I'd say that is perfectly normal, especially in current temperatures. Assuming you don't completely gun the thing into the redline it just takes longer than older cars.
A mk5 with 200hp is just an awful lot more efficient that the predecessor. The radiator should not come into play at all until around near the 90 mark anyway.