Author Topic: The cycling thread  (Read 30450 times)

Offline dubber36

• Forum addict
The cycling thread
« on: 04 February 2015, 08:28 »
I know this is a car forum, but I'm sure many of us like to cycle too. Whether it be road, trail, commuting or leisure. Rather than the chat taking over other peoples threads, I thought we ought to have our own place to discuss carbon and lycra.

I started riding again about a year ago, going out on the road on my mountain bike with skinny tyres. This soon got tiresome, so I bought a road bike. I didn't want to go mad, so bought a Giant Defy 2. 3000 miles later and I'm loving it. I was back in the shop yesterday looking for a 'best' bike for summer rides and sportives. I'm pretty sure I'll go for the Specialized Rouabix in a few weeks time. I don't want it just yet as I will be tempted to take it out on crappy roads, and I'm sure my wife won't let me keep it in the living room.
Red Mk6 gone replaced with a white Mk7 which has gone too. Green Mk2 here to stay.

Offline Booth11

• Serious forum addict
Re: The cycling thread
« Reply #1 on: 04 February 2015, 09:43 »
Nice one dubber.  Who doesn't like a bit of cycling  :wink:

As you know already, my cycling history is the other way round to yours.  Brought up on a diet of Yorkshire cycling as my dad used to race nearly every week (he still gets out on the bike every week aged 78).  Family camping holidays were arranged following the Tour de France around.  As a child was fortunate to see the great Eddy Merckx take the yellow jersey twice on the Champs Elysee.  In my youth I participated in time trialling (mainly 25 milers), and my hero was Bernard (The Badger) Hinault.  But now many years later I'm more into Golf GTi's.