Author Topic: Mk4 GTI 1.8T - How to go about converting to a track day car?  (Read 14755 times)

Offline Procomp

• Not said much yet
Hi
I've inherited a low mileage 3dr 1.8T Mk4 golf GTi that I've looking to convert over time into a track day car, but that will also still be useable on the road.

I've done some racing and track days in the past with a 7 style kit car, so I'm ok with a set of spanners etc but I'm new to MK4's and I'm looking for either some previous threads or advice on what to do and where to start. 

Currently, my thought process is: -

Reliability - From racing, good prep is the key to successful being able to compete.  The car itself is a low milegage (67k) with good history, so I'm intending to go through with a complete a full service and also change the belts/tensioners.  Is there anything else I need to consider as well in your opinions?

Engine - I'll look at chipping the engine at a later date, as I think it's both good to see what you've got to start with and build your level's of performance as you go.  Also, if I get the braking/handling sorted first, I know this will give you both confidence, improved lap times anyway and a great basis for more bhp when you upgrade the engine!

Safety - Will look at a roll bar and seats belts, but not sure when best to fit these from.  I know you'd say straight away, and I should look really at doing this early in the project.  For track days, I'd like to know how much of a roll cage (full/part/door bars) people have fitted and also what belts and seats people have looked at using?

Brakes - What combinations work well, as I'd prefer to spend wisely here.  Also what else in the braking systems have people done to improve things here?

Suspension - Same again, what's good equipment to fit and what else should you looka at.....poly bushes, roll bars, etc?

Wheels - What size is best, what tyres work well on these cars?