Author Topic: Quick question about tyres  (Read 3546 times)

ianj37

Quick question about tyres
« on: 24 May 2019, 20:12 »
Hello
Picked up my GTI Performance 3 weeks ago, purchased as pre reg (April) with 100 miles on the clock. All has been going well but when cleaning it today I noticed that the rear off side tyre is a Continental PremiumContact 6 and the others are Bridgestone Ponteza S001 - something the dealer never mentioned! All are 225 40 R18  Y92 and I'm assuming that the Bridgestones are the VW fit - if not then I really am worried!

I'm no expert on tyres but from the info on the internet it seems that manufacturers suggest that the tyres on each axle should be  exactly the same, some sites seem to suggest that it's illegal to have different tyres on the same axis but I really don't think the dealer would sell me an illegal car.
So do you think I should be worried? I'm going to contact the dealer to get them to set out that it is legal and also to explain to me why it was done (I've checked the spare and that and the tools show no signs of being used), but I thought it would be helpful to have some advice first.
Thanks for your help.

Offline Watts

• Forum addict
Re: Quick question about tyres
« Reply #1 on: 24 May 2019, 20:19 »
The Bridgestones are the usual 18" tyre. The dealer has clearly replaced one for whatever reason, you should not have odd tyres though, it is not safe! Go straight back and complain, I'd be wanting all the tyres the same.
2019 Oryx White 5dr TCR.

Was - 2015 Tornado Red 3dr GTI PP, manual, Santiagos, Audi short shifter.

Offline Guzzle

• I live here
« Reply #2 on: 24 May 2019, 20:21 »
New Golf's tend to come fitted with the Bridgestone's if it's on 18 inch wheels.

It's not illegal to have different tyre brands on the same axle, but ideally they'd all be the same. I'd just check that they're all the same size and speed rating.  The standard Bridgestone's are a Y rated tyre.
7.5 GTD

Offline Talk-torque

• I live here