Author Topic: *Opinions needed* Passat GTI 20V Engine on a 1986 Cab...  (Read 1603 times)

Offline 83GTI-DS

• Not said much yet
Thank you & short message to Gibby at the end of the message :)

Now on to my request for help? :grin:

I found an 86 imported GTI Cabrio, red paint, black top, 2 doors, 3rd owner, 180,000 KMs (around 115,000 miles), original rims, rear windshield defroster (the thingy that makes the humidity go away - sorry, but no idea how that's called exactly? :laugh: ), and my question is:

This car was fitted with a Passat 1.8 GTI? 20V engine, from around 91-92 or something along these lines. The engine is relatively new as far as its mileage, according to the owner. Can anyone provide me with specs regarding this engine, or the general idea of placing such an engine in this car? It doesn't sound too natural, but then again they're both VWs, so who knows... I'm pretty new at this. What are your thoughts guys? Could it be a good match for this car? Also - can anyone show me some specs for a Passat GTI engine of this sort, just so I know a bit more about it?

Also - Excuse me for my ignorance, but how does a 5V per Cylinder engine actually work? What's the extra valve for - a 3rd exhaust valve for each cylinder, or what?

Thank you VERY much for all your help again!? :wink:? :smiley:? :smiley: :smiley:

Adi.

Gibby,

By far you didn't bother me to death - on the contrary! You've been of great help. The 1992 Karmann GTI was just out of my budget unfortunately, and I had to focus on a different one that was much closer to my financial abilities.

Golf GTI is not a common car around here. I've just heard from one of the club manager of the VAG club in Israel that some people spend a full year or more before finding a Golf GTI for a major project, and they're willing to shed some serious dollars (or NIS - New Israeli Shekels? :grin: ). I must have been lucky, and also spent countless hours scouring ads to find these few cars I have.